Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
2021 #HeartBSB Postseason Accolades Announced

2021 #HeartBSB Postseason Accolades Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The 2021 Heart of America Athletic Conference All-Conference teams and postseason awards have been released. | COMPLETE ALL-CONFERENCE LIST

The list features 17 players selected both First Team and Second Team while an additional 24 athletes earned Honorable Mention status. Each of the conference postseason awards were voted on by each head coach in the league. Mason Schwellenbach (1st Team - Utility / 1st Team Pitcher), Michael Slaten (1st Team Outfield / Hon. Men Relief Pitcher), and Kenny Otero (2nd Team Outfield / 2nd Team Pitcher) were recognized in multiple position groups.

Central Methodist swept the list of major award winners after a dominating season that saw the Eagles soar to the No. 4 slot in the national rankings en route to a regular season championship. The Eagles enter postseason action with an overall record of 40-5 (26-3 Heart) and are currently second in the nation with a 3.130 ERA.

Head coach, Nate Breland, was recognized as the Heart Coach of the Year by his peers. Breland, who is currently is in his eighth season at the helm of the program, also received the distinction in 2018.

Central's Sergio Macias was recognized as the Heart Player of the Year after a standout season. Macias will enter tournament action with a .424 batting average and has totaled 64 hits, 58 RBIs, 44 runs, 17 homers, and 10 doubles thus far. He has also collected five saves and one win on the mound while surrendering zero runs through 8.1 innings of work.

Fellow Eagle, Nick Merkel, was named the Heart Pitcher of the Year after a phenomenal junior campaign. Merkel boasts a spotless record of 10-0 on the bump this season and boasts an ERA of 1.82 after tossing 69.1 innings. He enters tournament action with 93 strikeouts on the season and has scattered just 50 hits through 257 batters faced. Merkel is nationally ranked in seven statistical categories, including 4th in wins and 8th in total runs allowed (14).

Honorees of the Gold Glove team, which recognizes the league's top defensive players at each position, have also been revealed:

- Pitcher: Michael Kruse (Benedictine)

- Catcher: Spencer Wiskus (Mount Mercy)

- First Base: Jordan Yates (Evangel)

- Second Base: Nathan Lamb (Evangel)

- Shortstop: Bailey Pattin (Baker)

- Third Base: Alex Rodriguez (Park)

- Outfield: Alex Fischer (William Penn)

- Outfield: Caleb Antonacci (Culver-Stockton)

- Outfield: Devon Garcia (Central Methodist)